Forum Comments

What distant learning lesson have you found useful?
In Member Discussions
wurorrerr
Apr 03, 2020
Encouraging STEM Education at Home Provided by Cecelia Watkins, Spark-Y Curriculum Director Project Learning Tree | Elementary, Middle | For caregivers - Backyard environmental education activities, with most available in Spanish. Scholastic's Computer Lab |  Elementary, Middle | For students & caregivers - Diversity between activity options; some more child-facing. Virtual Outdoor Experiences | Elementary, Middle | For caregivers - Set of activities to earn 'buttons' (like scout badges) related to outdoor stewardship. Captain Planet Foundation: Learning at Home | Elementary, Middle, High | For students - Hands-on projects using (semi) common materials: build a bug hotel, urban bird watch, BioBlitz, etc.  Animal Live Cams | Elementary, Middle, High | For students - Live video feed of eagles, elephants, ocean life, etc- could be useful as part of an observation activity or bigger projects. Science Bob Experiments | Elementary | For students - Hands on labs, very kid-facing/friendly, includes videos and science behind it. Many include less common materials. Scholastic Learn at Home | Elementary, Middle | For students - Very kid-facing STEM articles with lots of visuals and videos integrated; reflection/integration questions at the end. Khan Academy | Elementary, Middle, High | For students - Extremely built out, tons of options, mostly video content. Waters to the Sea: Mississippi River Adventure | Elementary, Middle, High | For students - Media-rich and science focused stories of the Mississippi. WYES Electronic Field Trips | Elementary, Middle | For students - A 56 minute video field trip along the Mississippi (incorporating science and history). Nuhop Outdoor Education At Home | Middle, High | For students - High quality content with multiple videos per activity, focus on environmental education, with math and science linked.
0
0
What distant learning lesson have you found useful?
In Member Discussions
What distant learning lesson have you found useful?
In Member Discussions
wurorrerr
Apr 02, 2020
Teaching in an online environment: Provided by Edmentum Best Practices for Teachers Making the Switch to Virtual Instruction Already attended this webinar? Check out the After the Webinar: Q&A Session where we answer additional questions we received during the live event! Using SEL Strategies to Navigate in Times of Crisis How Educators Can Address Special Populations, Accountability, Staff Training & More When Implementing e-Learning How Educators Can Support Parents & Other Caregivers While Making the Transition to Online Learning How Teachers Can Support Special Education Students in Online Learning How to Support Your Students During School Closures How to Support Your Students During School Closures, Part 2 Join us for an upcoming live webinar: Building District Capacity Through Virtual Instruction: Thursday, April 2 at 2:30 PM Central Time (3:30 PM Eastern Time/ 12:30 PM Pacific Time) Crossing the Finish Line: Helping Seniors Graduate During School Closures: Tuesday, April 7 at 11:00 AM Central Time (12:00 PM Eastern Time/ 9:00 AM Pacific Time) Track Proficiency and Progress During a School Closure with Study Island: Thursday, April 9 at 10:00 AM Central Time (11:00 AM Eastern Time/ 8:00 AM Pacific Time) Providing Instruction for Students with Disabilities During School Closures: Thursday, April 9 at 12:00 PM Central Time (1:00 PM Eastern Time/ 10:00 AM Pacific Time)Planning guides: Guide to Extending Learning During School Closures: Tips and resources for building and implementing an e-learning plan Guide to Planning A Virtual Graduation Ceremony: Tips and best practices for holding kindergarten to high school virtual commencement ceremonies Additional school closure resources: E-Learning Resource page: Tools and resources to support administrators and teachers during school closures Q&A Blog: Making the Switch to Virtual Instruction: Four online educators answer frequently asked questions from traditional classroom teachers EdNews Round Up: COVID-19 & Education Impacts: The latest news we have gathered pertaining to COVID-19 and the impact on U.S. education
0
0

wurorrerr

More actions