Awards & Scholarships


The following applications are available only to VTEEA Members.  All application eligibility requirements and applications components are outlined on each document. 


Award Nominations

All applicants need to be nominated.  Nomination takes less than five minutes to complete.  Please take a moment to recognize an outstanding individual.




Undergraduate Scholarships


VTEEA Awards are presented to outstanding technology and engineering education teachers, programs and professionals. The awards fall into several categories: Teacher of the Year, Program of the Year, John Monroe Outstanding Service, Academy of Scholars Citation, Lynn P. Barrier Engineering Citation, and numerous Service Awards. For more information, or to nominate a deserving teacher click on the links to the left.


Elementary School Program of the Year = No Award


Elementary School Teacher of the Year = Heather Russell, Ecoff Elementary School, Chesterfield County


High School Program of the Year = Sherando High School, Frederick County


High School Teacher of the Year = Dawn Rountree, Nansemond River High School, Suffolk County


Middle School Program of the Year = No Award


Middle School Teacher of the Year = Alisa Rushing, Swift Creek Middle School, Chesterfield County


Academy of Scholars Citation = Philip A. Reed, DTE

John Monroe Outstanding Service Award = Debra E. Shapiro, DTE, Suffolk City Public Schools

Presidential Citation = George Bishop, Prince William County Schools